Strawberry Pretzel Salad

I’m not quite sure why this is called a salad as it is most definitely a dessert. This is my go-to for parties, holidays, or just a quiet dinner at home with friends. This bad boy also won me a Target gift card at a Christmas party back in December, so it’s got the friend stamp of approval. I made a version of this recipe and find that the colors and salty sweet flavors make it a must-have dessert year-round. Try switching out the Jello colors for different holidays (green for St. Patricks Day, red for Memorial Day, pink for Easter… the world is your box of flavored gelatin). A few tips:

1. Add a teaspoon of real vanilla to your cream cheese mixture.
2. Make sure not to over bake your crust or it will become like cement! (Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything)
3. Wait to assemble your layers until everything (crust, cream cheese filling and Jello) has come to room temperature.
4. I find it’s best when eaten cold so the layers hold their shape.

Enjoy! x

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Pretzel Salad

  1. This has been a go-to recipe for holiday meals (mainly Easter, but also Christmas) for more years than I care to ‘fess up to. It is just as delicious now as it was when I clipped a recipe from a now-vintage Family Circle magazine all those years ago. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks it’s more dessert than salad!

  2. Yes, it’s such a classic dish and the recipe I use is actually my grandmother’s. It never fails to impress and always looks so festive! Thanks for stopping by the blog!

Leave a Reply

