The Green Smoothie Project

A few weeks ago I went to a Green Smoothie Girl presentation hosted by Robyn Openshaw here in Dallas. Robyn promotes a healthy, whole food lifestyle and has a pretty incredible story of how adjusting the way she ate impacted her health in dramatic ways. While I’m a long way from adjusting my eating habits to purely whole foods or converting to 60-80% (or more) raw, I decided the one thing I could commit to doing differently was adding a green smoothie to my daily routine. I have been faithful to my commitment for the past 3+ weeks and have already noticed some encouraging changes. Aside from simply feeling like I’m doing something good for my body every morning, I have quite literally cut my coffee intake in half due to increased energy and have experienced better digestion and hydration throughout the day.

If you want to learn more about a whole food lifestyle or start making your own green smoothies, check out Robyn’s website here.

Here is my current green smoothie recipe:

1/4 pound of kale
1/4 pound of spinach
3 cups water
1 banana
1/2 apple
2 tsp. flaxseed oil
3-4 whole, pitted dates for sweetness
(optional) 1/4 cup frozen berries

2 thoughts on “The Green Smoothie Project

  1. Pingback: French Breakfast ~ Petits Pains au Chocolat | Almost À La Mode

  2. Pingback: Bits of Happiness | Almost À La Mode

Leave a Reply

