Fresh Herb Salmon Salad

I have been a long-time fan of tuna salad since it’s easy to make and can be served a variety of different ways. While at the grocery store this weekend, my wheels started turning on how I could make a different, more delicious version of this old favorite. I had the butcher cut me a pound of Alaskan salmon and stocked up on fresh herbs for my makeshift recipe. This fresh salad is the ideal lunch served on fresh greens or a whole grain baguette. It’s bright and full of flavor, with capers, fresh dill and parsley, red onion and a zesty mayonnaise. While I didn’t remember to buy celery, I added a diced Granny Smith apple I had on hand which added the perfect flavor and crunch. Scroll down for the recipe!

 

Fresh Herb Salmon Salad Recipe:

Ingredients

1 pound cooked Alaskan Salmon (can also use canned salmon)
1/4 diced red onion
1/2 tablespoon capers, drained
1/4 cup chopped fresh italian parsley
1/8 cup chopped fresh dill
1 small Granny Smith apple, diced
1/3 cup light mayo (I used reduced fat with olive oil)
2 tablespoons dijon mustard
1 clove garlic
Light dash of Worcestershire
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions 

Combine mayonnaise, dijon mustard, garlic, worcestershire, salt and pepper. Set aside. In a large bowl, toss salmon, onion, capers, parsley, dill and apple. Add dressing and toss until thoroughly coated. Serve chilled.

3 thoughts on “Fresh Herb Salmon Salad

Leave a Reply

