Shrimp Tacos

I swear this is not a food blog, although I understand that the abundance of food posts in the last week and a half may lead you to think so. My only answer is that when it comes to things I’m inspired by, bright, colorful, delicious food is at the top of the list. I’m one of those people that finds comfort in watching shows like Barefoot Contessa and Everyday Italian. Perusing recipes and food blogs online brings me joy. I get way too excited for shopping trips at Whole Foods and Central Market. More than anything, I love that food brings people together and home-cooked meals have a certain comfort all their own.

I didn’t find a recipe for these shrimp tacos online so much as just a single picture. When I saw it I thought, “I can do that”, as is the case with most of the quick-fix recipes in my repertoire (here, here and here). These were easy, fun and delicious. Any time garlic and the sauté pan have a get-together, you know it’s a good time.

And for those of you who need a recipe, here ya go 🙂

Simple Shrimp Tacos:

Whole wheat tortillas
14-15 large shrimp (I used pre-cooked, frozen with tails on)
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 clove garlic, crushed
Salt
Pepper

For the guacamole:

1 large, ripe avocado
Juice of 1/2 lime
Small handful cilantro
Chopped red onion (to taste)
Chopped tomato (to taste)
Salt
Pepper

*Combine all guacamole ingredients in food processor until chunky. Heat olive oil over medium heat in pan. Add crushed garlic and shrimp and sauté until bright pink (about 7 minutes). Heat tortillas in hot pan, oven or microwave until warm. Spread guacamole on tortilla and add shrimp and garlic. Should make 2 tacos.

Leave a Reply

